Bendigo Historical Society Inc.

Bendigo Historical Society Inc.

Society News

Contact Us

Visit our Shared Files

Bendigo History

This site is proudly supported by

Last Update
6th of July 2017

Contact Us

Society Research and other enquiries

By mail:
Box 2309 Mail Centre
Victoria 3554
By phone:
(Pres. Jim Evans)
03 5442 1005 Business Hours

Specimen Cottage,
178-180 Hargreaves St, Bendigo.
Ph: 03 5441 3443
Open Tues and Thurs 10am - 4:00pm

By email:
School of Mines
Current Committee
Jim Evans: President
Neville Davies: Secretary / Temporary Treasurer
Barbara Poustie: Assistant Secretary
Kay MacGregor: Collections Manager
Lorna Neivandt
Carol Holsworth
Norm Harris

School of Mines
Private Collection
Encouraged by the Mechanics’ Institute, the School of Mines was opened in 1873 with the purpose of educating in such fields as metallurgy, assaying, geology, mineralogy, mathematics, surveying, mine management etc. Building extended later with tower and new buildings by Vahland (architect).

Copyright © 2005 Bendigo Historical Society Inc. Developed by BWC & Bendigo's.Net